Thursday, November 17, 2011

Some off-season MLB news

Roy Halladay of the Phillies was unable to win a second consecutive NL Cy Young Award, as that honor when (27-5 decision) to Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers.  Halladay finished second, with Cliff Lee third and Cole Hamels fifth.  That's a ridiculous rotation.

The Houston Astros will move to the American Leage West after the 2012 season, finally creating 2 equal 15 team leagues.  Also, by the 2013 season, there will be 2 wildcard teams in each league instead of 1.  Those 2 teams will play a 1 game playoff to decide who will advance to the divisional round.  It's about time some playoff changes were made, as baseball is one of the most difficult sports in terms of making the postseason. Only 8 out of 30 teams make the playoffs currently, which is only 27%.  (via USAToday Sports)

No comments:

Post a Comment